I might have given you duff information, sorry if that's the case but it's because I can't quite remember what I did.
Couple of things though. Each series has a serverId. Then if there is TmsId in the data, a TmsId too. These are two fields in the same record. TiVo appears to work ok with SPs making use of the ServerId (luckily for us since in 2011 we didn't have the TmsId version of the data!).
The backup module plays nicely, and the OzTiVo users didn't have TmsIds in their data and always run without them - unsurprising that we didn't either as they gave us their system - so it has a setting called "restore_is_aus" which is commented near the top of the file.
I think you need to set this so that it searches ServerIds when hunting for the matching series after you've switched to the TmsId slice data. (Your TiVo will by then have both, this doesn't matter, it's only for finding the right series to recreate a SP).
[
Example, Doctor Who. Find this in tivoweb, and load the series. On my first tivo the url ends with .../series/<number>. Change the URL in the browser to read .../object/<number> and load that page and I get
- Code: Select all
Series 6712850/15 {
ServerVersion = 9
Genre = 35 88 1005 1014
Title = {Doctor Who}
Episodic = 1
TmsId = SH11411599
ServerId = 201411599
Version = 35
ThumbData = 268632575
IndexPath = /Server/201411599
}
Then on my other tivo, it's a different <number> but the underlying Db object is
- Code: Select all
ServerVersion 10
Genre 35 88 1005 1014
Title {Doctor Who}
Episodic 1
TmsId SH11411599
ServerId 201411599
Version 3
ThumbData 268500992
IndexPath /Server/20141159
NB: ServerId=201411599 on both TiVos. And it'll be on yours too. That's what the backup/restore will use. Because the <number> of the object will be completely different when you download data from scratch, that's what the SP backup module looks for to find the same series again and make another SP.
]
After that you could then do another backup with "restore_is_aus" unset, and see if that backup contains TmsIds as well. I recommend software such as "Beyond Compare" for comparing text files.
Also it's very hard to get a TiVo with no "old" data left, unless you do a complete wipe. This is because your recordings in Now Playing will still be from the old data, and this means those Season Passes for those series will still be created without TmsIds. They will still work because the ServerId for the series remains the same, unless we change it on the server (eg if we edit the genre, or the series name, or add a matching rule).
I think I didn't do a Clear Programme Data on my TiVo when I switched. It's coming back to me now! I modified (dirty hack) my TiVoweb to display the TmsId of a series, with the alternative "fallback" made-up TmsId if it was missing, just like I did with Tracker. So I could see easily which of my series were stuck with "old" data. The other way to see these was when I ran an Update on the tracker (new version) as they are shown in a different colour. This turned out to be many series that hadn't had episodes for ages - basically everything that was in the slices when I did the first Guided Setup from AltEPG!
These continued to be tracked in Tracker under the old Series files, and would be forever until my TiVo got a new version of the series when it changed on the server. So I had a very long overlap period with some series being tracked under their new TmsId but the others stuck under the old. This means you could have an Episode you saw in the non-TmsId series, but because you haven't seen it under the TmsId series, it's effectively different and has to be tracked again. Confession time, I cheated, and did some editor's updates on the server side to bump those few series just so that my TiVo would process the data and update my SPs to include TmsId. Well, I put a lot of effort in...
. Not really scale-able and really fiddly and I just had to do them one at a time each time I saw another one. Took me months!
Neatest way to do it is a full wipe. Doing it and keeping recordings which is what is most practical, means any series you have in Now Playing keeps its old record. If you're determined, what you could do though, is go around the loop twice. Clear data and switch, and restore the SP backup. Your SPs which didn't have Now Playing entries should now have new data. Then watch your recordings (Episodes, don't worry about one-off specials or movies). Then do another backup and "clear data" and that'll clear out the old records of those series too. This would be a much better way than what I did and clear out the old data completely in two passes, assuming it's practical for you to watch all the recordings. (My TiVo is still stuffed with old Series records, I only ever massaged the ones I had SPs for.)